Why You SHOULDN’T Date a Traveler: Advice From a Traveler

There is a lot of hype about this piece about on why you shouldn’t date a traveler. I am not really the type to respond to the latest hype, however this piece struck a chord with me. I believe the piece had good intentions and that any generation of discussion is always a positive change. However, to date or not to date a type for me has always made me a bit sad. I must confess that I am a bit of a hopeless romantic and an even bigger idealist. Dreaming is a part of my creative process as much as is my analyzing.

So here are my thoughts:

Is one type of person better over say another type of person? Not at all. Do certain activities lead to generalized characteristics and qualities? Of course, environment always influences a person. But what all this comes down to is who is right for you.

Danshui Lovers Bridge, Taipei, Taiwan, backpacksandblackboards.com
Danshui Lovers Bridge, Taipei, Taiwan, backpacksandblackboards.com

I should be flattered, as I am a traveler, that so many see my “type” as a desirable indicator of my relationship qualities. But do I think that those who do not travel are any less so? My own mother never had the chance to travel before I forced her to have to visit me halfway around the world. I do not consider my mother less of a catch than me. Instead, I would say that we have to find “our type” based on the type of life we like to lead.

Botanical Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland, UK, backpacksandblackboards.com
Botanical Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland, UK, backpacksandblackboards.com

If you travel around the world, you can find someone who a) supports and encourages that, b) buys tickets with you, or c) becomes your place of home after all your travels are done. If you have little desire to travel the world, besides the occasional vacation, why would you desire someone who travels?

It is not that travelers have some magical insight into the way to make a relationship work and how to be the best version of yourself. They, at my own sadness, do not even have the upper hand on love potions. (Although if you know a place, please pass me a tip!)

Chepstow Castle, Wales, United Kingdom, backpacksandblackboards.com
Chepstow Castle, Wales, United Kingdom, backpacksandblackboards.com

In honesty, travelers just happen to generally have certain characteristics and qualities that are deemed valuable in a healthy relationship. And through discussion around the web, it is obvious that there are some less than valued qualities as well. But as humans, we all have this! We win some and we lose some in the characteristic test. Someone who grows up in a small town and desires to raise their own family in much the same way bears the same inclusion in the “Has and Has Not” game. This is what we call the human experience. It is what has caused some relationships to work and some to fail horribly.

So, I agree with the title: you shouldn’t date a traveler, not just for dating sake. You should date a traveler only if you have found what you need in your life in that person. You shouldn’t intentionally seek to date a traveler if you have found little compatibility, even if all your friends around you date travelers or your mom wants to go to Paris to visit grandchildren. You should only date a traveler if their characteristics are among the ones that match with your own.

If all else fails in the dating arena, a pet hippo would be quite adorable and won’t complain if you eat the whole bag of Cheetos in one sitting. Just saying. I should have titled this post “Why You Should Buy a Hippo!” or better yet, “Why Love Potions Don’t Exist but Hippos Do!”

Isn't he adorable? backpacksandblackboards.com
Isn’t he adorable? backpacksandblackboards.com
2 thoughts on “Why You SHOULDN’T Date a Traveler: Advice From a Traveler”

Share your thoughts

