Little Moments: Maple Mondays

At 10 this morning, I just could not get the idea of pancakes out of my mind. As I went through my morning routine, the sweet aroma of maple syrup seemed to beckon (although a close alternative would indeed be bacon) me onward. So I resolved to do what any self-respecting expat would do on a Monday morning—set out for brunch.

My "I'm about to get a lot of delicious food soon" look
My “I’m about to get a lot of delicious food soon” look

Seeing as it was a brunch, I naturally felt inclined to order a blend of fruit juices, tea, my desired pancakes, and of course a bacon cheeseburger. Because naturally, I’m brunching and breakfast is only half the deal.

The butter wouldn't even stay on for a quick picture!
The butter wouldn’t even stay on for a quick picture!

It was this delicious gluttony that sparked the idea for a blog series: Little Moments. As an expat and frequent traveler, I started this site not to post travel noise about what to see and where to go next, but to share the moments that make being abroad or on the road that much sweeter.

Does it get better than that? Seriously though!
Does it get better than that? Seriously though!

Backpacks & Blackboards will continue to have its long thoughtful articles as well as the Let’s Get Personal editorial letters. Little Moments posts are simply small snippets to display some of the daily grind I go through being an expat. I hope this gives you, the reader, a better chance to get to know the real me, the one beyond just the boarding pass.

Autumn is clearly for all things burgundy!
Autumn is clearly for all things burgundy!
3 thoughts on “Little Moments: Maple Mondays”

  1. Haha! The craving for pancakes must have been an expat thing today! I too woke up with the same craving! I made my pancakes this morning, but your spread looks soo delicious!

Share your thoughts

