Here Today, Taiwan Tomorrow: Ciaotou Sugar Refinery

Of all the apps out there, I probably spend the majority of my time on Instagram. It’s easy to get bite-size moments and stories aided by their great visuals in any spare time I have: a collection of mini blogs so to speak.

Ciaotou Sugary Refinery

I follow way more accounts than I probably should and find myself getting carried away into hashtags that I myself would probably never use. One such has to do with the urban grunge found in abandoned places. I find myself captivated by the juxtaposition of what was once so filled with life and what is now (to put it in oxymoronic terms) an empty mess.

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

So a while back when I was able to go down to Kaohsiung for the day, I wanted to stop by the unused Ciaotou Sugar Refinery to explore a spot of urban grunge for myself.

Despite being open to the public, the Ciaotou Sugar Refinery was actually quite quiet and an enjoyable mini adventure.

ciaotou sugar refinery

 ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

Grass had begun to grow out over the railway tracks and auburn rust spread around the metal frames as if poured over them in great buckets from the sky.

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

One thing that struck me was just how much light flooded into an otherwise dark atmosphere of machinery. Even the remnants of past workers (or littering guests) seemed natural, and not eerie.

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

Perhaps this particular factory had been closed down, but the remains were not outdated. Instead, it seemed as if the entire place had been re-purposed into an adult playground: a world to feed our curiosity and natural desire to examine the life cycle of things in closer detail.

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

ciaotou sugar refinery

Share your thoughts

