Let’s Get Personal: Distractions

Okay, I know I’ve been going on more adventures lately than I have been online sharing them with you. A bit selfish of me, no doubt. I just can’t help it. There’s just something I’ve loved about switching off media, except for posting a few highlights on Instagram (naturally).

DSC_0011

Regardless, I have been behind the scenes planning and drafting all sorts of new avenues for Backpacks & Blackboards and its lovely readers. For starters, I am nearing the end of my book writing process for Skipping Baggage Claim! I get so excited thinking about being able to share my journey transitioning to a more authentic lifestyle. I must admit, I’m a tad scared. However, every moment in my life that has held those two emotions simultaneously has yielded immeasurable rewards. If you haven’t read the sample first chapter, you can find it for free here!

DSC_0004

Another new development is a month long trip to the American Southwest and north Mexico in August. I will be visiting the cities of Dallas, Fort Worth, Phoenix, Scottsdale, El Paso, Chihuahua, and Mexico City! This will be the first time I have been home since moving to Taipei over two years ago. The days on my itinerary sheet are filling up with all sorts of new adventures, unique and local. I am not only anxious to get on the road again, but to share a culture that fostered the person I am today. Most of my international friends think cities like El Paso are little dusty saloon towns. They are shocked to find large, vibrant cities with their own mix of culture and attractions. Be prepared for lots of dry heat goodness!

DSC_0017

Last, but certainly not least, I have been compiling all sorts of photographs, ideas, and places to highlight as the best Taipei has to offer. Whether you are looking for a place to read your favorite issue of Kinfolk or a spot to feel like a nature buff, Taipei has a wide array of special locations. As someone constantly searching the web and social media platforms for new places or experiences, I have come to realize that so many places have been left uncovered in travel and expat write-ups. Some hidden gems are so hidden, even locals haven’t heard of them. It’s time my readers truly discover all Taipei has to offer as a global destination.

How about you? What are your summer plans? Have adventures or projects distracted you from getting other things done?

DSC_0018

And I’ve enjoyed connecting with so many of you lately! Thank you for your support, encouragement, and delightful friendship. If you want to introduce yourself, give me suggestions for destinations’ must-see’s, or send me your address for some snail mail from Taipei, please email me at backpacksandblackboards@gmail.com.

All my adventurous love,

♥ Christian

Share your thoughts

