Day 1: Everyday Chocolate Cake

The first day of December is indeed a celebration! What better way than to start a sweet month with a chocolate cake worth its weight in sugar!? You can read more about 25 days of Christmas cooking inspiration over here. If you’re ready to unwrap this chocolate goodness, then keep reading.

Everyday Chocolate Cake

So, Taiwanese kitchens come with the equivalent of easy bake ovens, only not as pink. Cake baking is not as easy as it should be, but I was determined to find the perfect moist cake with minimal work and no frosting. So when I stumbled upon Smitten Kitchen’s Everyday Chocolate Cake recipe. I was drooling and collecting ingredients as quickly as I could. (Be sure to keep an eye for more Smitten Kitchen recipes throughout the month!)

This cake was very easy to make in a single bowl and all the ingredients can be found/substituted when living in Taipei. For two hours, my apartment smelled like Willy Wonka’s factory. I could’ve licked the entire bowl clean, but I’m an adult now and the idea of raw egg is finally enough to deter me…just barely though. I also had to will myself to wrap it up for friends before I consumed all of it. If you make one thing this week, let it be this cake!

Um, cocoa powder is going to be a staple in my pantry for the next several weeks. Don’t make this cake without a list of friends to share it with or over a long weekend at home. Trust me. It’s way too tempting to eat it all in one sitting.

Find the recipe over at Smitten Kitchen: Everyday Chocolate Cake.

12269768_1129034067121751_572995897_n


And if you make your own, be sure to share at #25ChristmasCooking or #BackpacksAbroad on Instagram!

Share your thoughts

