Day 2: Twice-Baked Shortbread Cookies

I popped out the little chocolate on my advent calendar today for December 2nd. Can you believe that it’s barely two days into the month?! Not that I’m complaining, but I already feel like I’m knee-deep in holiday cheer!

Twice Baked Shortbread Cookies

I’m not going to deny that the sugar factory that is my kitchen isn’t to blame for all this. I mean, I practically keep the bag of sugar on my counter now just so that it is within arm’s reach. Just how many reps of sugar bag toting do you need to do to keep the cookie figure to a minimal?

Well, sorry to say to all those diets out there, but Day 2 of Christmas Cooking won’t be too kind. Today it is all about keeping it simple and sugary. Super sugary simple. Like roll out of bed wanting a breakfast cookie (because that’s totally better than Santa surprises) type of simple. Start the coffee and bake some cookies.

I’m expecting some knocks on the door any minute now. Day 1 left the entire landing and apartment smelling strongly of chocolate. Day 2 is the down-home smell of butter and sugar. That’s right: old fashioned shortbread cookies! Now, before you give up, just know that these are twice baked and super moist. Butter-holics rejoice! I really could have stopped at step one, which was to combine melted butter and sugar. Unlike the chocolate cake, there’s no egg in shortbread cookies. So I had to just keep repeating ‘cookies, cookies, cookies’ over again to affirm that I would make it past step one. Hardest challenge to my week, but worth it in the end.

This was the chocolate cake. A second helping of that too!

Everyday Chocolate Cake

The steps are simple. Mix the few ingredients into a single bowl. Pour in pan and leave on your countertop overnight. Bake in the oven the next morning for 45 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes, cut, and sprinkle with sugar. Pop them back into the oven for 15 minutes. Done! A buttery cookie suitable to leave out on a plate so that every time you pass by, hungry or not, you can help yourself to simple & easy deliciousness.

Get the full instructions off the Smitten Kitchen website: Twice Baked Shortbread Cookies

Twice Baked Shortbread Cookies


And if you make your own, be sure to share at #25ChristmasCooking or #BackpacksAbroad on Instagram!
2 thoughts on “Day 2: Twice-Baked Shortbread Cookies”

Share your thoughts

